Academic OneFile (Lawson)

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature, and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly. Also, includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995.

Academic Onefile Select (Lawson)

Academic OneFile Select provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers across disciplines. The database meets research needs in subject areas including the arts and humanities, social sciences, and science and technology.

Academic Search Premier (AVL)

Full-text and images from biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, religion & theology.

AccessScience (AVL)

AccessScience is an authoritative and dynamic online resource that contains incisively written, high-quality reference material that covers all major scientific disciplines.

Access World News (Lawson)

This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Sources include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Explore events or compare viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, etc.

Alabama Mosaic (Public)

This Alabama’s Digitization Project provides unique historical treasures from Alabama's archives, libraries, museums, and other repositories.

Alt HealthWatch (AVL)

This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed journals and reports. In addition, there are hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine. This database features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full-text going back as far as 1990.

Birmingham News Collection (Lawson)

Search local events or browse today’s news.  Includes text, images, and web content from 1993 to the present. Updated daily. A NewsBank resource.

Black Life in America (Lawson)

The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media.

Bloom's Literature (Lawson)

Includes thousands of critical essays, author biographies and character analyses, the full content of hundreds of reference books, more than 900 classic works of literature, thousands of questions for discussion and writing, thousands of full-length poems, essays providing guidance on writing papers, full-length videos of classic stage performances and film adaptations of literary works, and a Shakespeare Center housing in one convenient location the database’s treasure trove of content on all things Shakespeare.

Book Collection: Nonfiction (AVL)

Research database containing informative abstracts and searchable full text for more than 4,100 popular nonfiction books. The database includes full text entries on core subject areas, as well as information on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology and life skills.

Britannica Academic (AVL)

Britannica Online Academic Edition has been thoroughly updated with new content and a more user-friendly interface that specifically addresses the needs of college and university libraries.

Britannica High School (AVL)

Britannica High School offers thousands of up-to-date, curated, and curriculum-relevant articles, images, videos, audio clips, primary sources, maps, research tools, recommended Web sites, and three separate encyclopedias.

Britannica Original Sources (AVL)

Britannica Original Sources contains the original documents and personal accounts of humankind’s social, political, legal and religious development, as well as some of the greatest discoveries, insights and literary achievements in the words of the actual authors, discoverers and knowledge-seekers.

Business (AVL)

GaleOneFile: Business provides full-text articles on management issues, economic indicators, and business theories and practices, as well as on the activities of companies and industries
worldwide.

Business Insights: Essentials (AVL)

Business Insights: Essentials integrates detailed company and industry news by bringing together articles from periodicals, company profiles, brand information, rankings, investment reports, company histories, and chronologies.

Business Plans Handbook (AVL)

Actual business plans compiled by and aimed at, entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses. Presents sample plans taken from businesses in the manufacturing, retail, and service industries which serve as examples of how to approach, structure, and compose business plans.

Business Source Premier (AVL)

Business Source Premier is the industry’s most used business research database, providing full text for more than 2,300 journals, including full text for more than 1,100 peer-reviewed titles. Business Source Premier is superior to the competition in full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.

Career & Technical Education (Lawson)

Career & Technical Education is the definitive source for vocational information. The database includes nearly 600 titles, with more than 500 available in full text for quick access to research on virtually any technical topic.

CINAHL Plus w/FullText (Lawson)

CINAHL® with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 610 journals indexed in CINAHL®. This authoritative file contains full-text for many of the most used journals in the CINAHL index.

Communications & Mass Media (Lawson)

Communications and Mass Media provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

Contemporary Authors (AVL)

This GALE resource provides access to current biographical and bibliographical data on more than 120,000 modern authors. Each entry contains the most complete and up-to-date entry, accessible through an easy-to-use interface with a variety of search paths to help you locate the information you need quickly and efficiently. You can easily search for an author by name, title of work, subject/genre, nationality, date and place of birth, honors, awards and much more.

Coronavirus Research (Public)

The ProQuest Coronavirus Research database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.

Credo Reference (Lawson)

Use Credo Reference to find Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Biographies, Quotations, Lingual Dictionaries, Crossword Solver, and Measurement Conversions. Provides online access to over 300 reference books.

Culinary Arts (AVL)

Culinary Arts provides access to academic journals and magazines on all aspects of cooking and nutrition. The database includes thousands of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.

Dental Assistant Journal (Lawson)

The Dental Assistant Journal is the professional Journal of the American Dental Assistants Association (ADAA) which is dedicated to furthering the education and professional development of the working dental assistant. The journal is published bi-monthly and covers such topics as technical and theoretical aspects of chairside or clinical assisting, business administration issues, and continuing education.

See access information below(case sensitive):

Username: Lawsonstatelibrary
Password:  cWhe6dwN

Dictionary of Literacy Biography (AVL)

The Gale Dictionary of Literary Biography provides comprehensive access to the series dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers and scholars. The series provides reliable information on authors and their works in an easy to understand, engaging format while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography includes the main series, documentary, and yearbook volumes.

Drama for Students (AVL)

This Gale resource critically overviews the most-studied plays of all time periods, nations, and cultures. Includes discussions of themes, characters, critical reception, dramatic devices and traditions, and cultural and historical context.

EBSCO eBook Collection: Nonfiction (Lawson)

Book Collection: Nonfiction is a rich database of abstracts and searchable full text for thousands of popular nonfiction books. Titles included on careers, health, sports, adventure, technology, life skills and more.

EBSCO eBook Community College Collection (Lawson)

Focuses on the academic and trade information needs of community colleges. This multidisciplinary collection covers topics across programs and fields of study offered in Community Colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities and Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and Literary Criticism. The complexity of the information available in this collection varies from introductory to higher-level content, providing students with a range of information to meet their needs as they develop in their area(s) of study.

Educator’s Reference Complete (Lawson)

Educator's Reference Complete provides access to academic journals, reports, and many premier reference sources in the field of education. The database includes content in key subject areas including administration, bilingual education, child development and psychology, funding, health education, technology, and testing. The majority of the full-text titles included are also found in the ERIC database.

Encyclopedia of Alabama (Public)

A free, online resource on Alabama history, culture, geography, and natural environment. This site offers articles on Alabama’s famous people, historic events, sports, art, literature, industry, government, plant and animal life, agriculture, recreation, and so much more.

Environmental Studies (Lawson)

Environmental Studies focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment. Topics include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.

ERIC (AVL)

ERIC, the U.S. Department of Education Educational Resource Information Center database citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals, as well as full text of more than 2,200 digests.

Ethnic NewsWatch (AVL)

Ethnic NewsWatch™, covers 1990-present, and the historical collection, Ethnic NewsWatch: A History™, spans 1959-1989. Ethnicities include: African American/Caribbean/African; Arab/Middle Eastern; Asian/Pacific Islander; European/Eastern European; Hispanic; Jewish and Native Peoples.

Films On Demand: Archival Films & Newsreels Video Collection (Lawson)

Throughout modern history, cameras have recorded public events, wars, cultural phenomena, and government programs. This video collection is a treasure trove of archival and historical films from multiple sources.

Username: lscc

Password: digital

Films On Demand: Master Academic Package (Lawson)

A comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos.

Username: lscc

Password: digital

Fine Arts (AVL)

Fine Arts provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (AVL)

This Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.

Gale eBooks (AVL)

Encyclopedia articles from subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. Includes more than 340 academic, subject-specific encyclopedias and reference books. 

Gale Literary Index (AVL)

Gale Literary Index is a master index to the primary literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for titles of works into one source.

Gale Literary Index provides quick and easy access to author and title listings from over 130 literature products from Gale and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. The referenced products will contain complete authors' biographies and critical essays on their writings.

Gale Literature (AVL)

Users will be able to cross-search Literature Resource Center, LitFinder, Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Literature Criticism, Twayne’s Authors, and Scribner Writers.

Gale PowerSearch (Lawson)

Collection of articles from magazines, journals, newspapers, and books along with videos, images and podcast content.

Gardening and Horticulture (AVL)

Gardening and Horticulture serves horticultural enthusiasts of all levels with more than 3.6 million articles from more than 100 journals, as well as more than 20 reference titles from Delmar, including Handbook of Flowers; Foliage and Creative Design; Computer Graphics for Landscape Architects; and more.

General OneFile (AVL)

General OneFile is a one-stop source for news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

GreenFILE (AVL)

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

Health Source: Consumer Edition (AVL)

Consumer health information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (AVL)

Indexes and abstracts over 560 scholarly journals and includes full text articles for over 520 journals focusing on medical disciplines, especially nursing and allied health topics.

History Reference Center (AVL)

History Reference Center features cover-to-cover full text for more than 650 historical encyclopedias and other non-fiction books. The database also includes full text for nearly 60 leading history periodicals; 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Home Improvement (Lawson)

Home Improvement provides access to titles covering topics including architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning requirements, and others. The database offers content that meets the needs of hobbyists and professionals alike.

Hospitality and Tourism (Lawson)

Hospitality and Tourism provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and trade publications that cover topics including the cultural and economic aspects of travel and tourism. The database offers current and relevant content that provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism industries.

Informe Académico (AVL)

Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America

Journal of Cybersecurity (Lawson)

Journal of Cybersecurity publishes accessible articles describing original research in the inherently interdisciplinary cyber domain. Journal of Cybersecurity is premised on the belief that computer science-based approaches, while necessary, are insufficient to tackle cybersecurity challenges. Instead, scholarly contributions from various disciplines are needed to understand the varied aspects of cybersecurity.

Journal of Cybersecurity solicits articles adhering to the following broadly constructed and interpreted aspects of cybersecurity:

• anthropological and cultural studies;
• computer science and security;
• security and crime science;
• cryptography and associated topics;
• security economics;
• human factors and psychology;
• legal aspects of information security;
• political and policy perspectives;
• strategy and international relations; and privacy

Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (Lawson)

The Journal of Diagnostic Medical Sonography (JDMS) will provide the latest research and information on diagnostic techniques and interpretation methods, thought-provoking case studies, practical research applications, and advances in technology and equipment, in a variety of specialty areas, including:

• Obstetrics and Gynecology
• Abdomen
• Vascular technology
• Adult, pediatric, and fetal echocardiography
• Pediatric sonography
• Breast sonography

Learning Express Library (APLS)

Learning Express provides comprehensive educational resources—including interactive tutorials, practice exams, flashcards, articles, and e-books—for basic skills mastery, academic success, job preparation, and career advancement. Powerful tools and guidance to achieve your career goals. Guided support and preparation to help you earn a high school equivalency credential.

Prepare for Nursing Exams, Real Estate Exams, Teaching Exams, the WorkKeys® Assessments and the TOEIC®, the Air Traffic Controller Exam, the Allied Health and Social Worker Exams, Civil Service Exams, Commercial Driver's License (CDL) Exams, Cosmetology Exams, Culinary Arts Exams, Electrician and Plumbing Exams, Emergency Medical Services, Firefighting Exams, Law Enforcement Exams, and Military Exams.

LegalTrac (Lawson)

LegalTrac provides indexing and selective full-text for all major law reviews, law journals, specialty law and bar association journals and legal newspapers. The database offers coverage of federal and state cases, laws and regulations, legal practice and taxation, as well as British Commonwealth, European Union, and international law.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (AVL)

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Literature Criticism (AVL)

Literature Criticism provides the largest curated online collection of literary criticism in the world, this resource brings together 10 acclaimed multidisciplinary series representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres.

Literature Resource Center (AVL)

Provides researchers with literary resources to support their literary responses, literary analysis, and thesis statements through a diversity of scholars and critics that ensure all views and interpretations are represented. Researchers can find up-to-date analysis, biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism, and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods, and from around the world.

LitFinder (AVL)

LitFinder provides access to literary works and authors throughout history and includes more than 130,000 full-text poems and 650,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays. The database also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.

Macworld Magazine (Lawson)

Macworld launched with the Mac in 1984 and is still the best place to read about everything Apple is doing, from the Mac to the iPad, iPhone, and iPod. Combining product reviews, valuable tips, and analysis of the latest new developments, Macworld magazine provides you with what you need to know about the universe of Apple products every month.

For ACCESS: You can click on the ARROW/BOX in the upper right of the screen to LOG IN.

USERNAME: askalibrarian@lawsonstate.edu     PASSWORD: LSCCMac2021

You will see recent magazine issues at the BOTTOM/CENTER of the page. Double-click on the MAGAZINE COVER you would like to read, then click the "READ NOW" tab on the page that populates. You can scroll through recent issues using the ARROWS to the RIGHT. You can save the login information on your device for easier access the next time you log in.

MasterFILE Premier (AVL)

MasterFILE Premier also contains full text for nearly 500 reference books, over 164,400 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 592,000 photos, maps & flags.

McGraw Hill Practical Echocardiography Video Cases (Public)

An index of Echocardiography videos  Examples include: Large basal inferior left ventricle wall aneurysm, akinesis of the basal and mid-inferior left ventricle wall, and akenesis of the basal and mid-inferior left ventricle wall.

MedlinePlus (AVL)

MedlinePlus has extensive information from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on over 650 diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.

Military & Government Collection (AVL)

Military & Government Collection provides full text from over 330 military and general interest publications. Designed to bring current news to all branches of the military. This database also offers indexing and abstracts for over 370 magazines. Some titles included are Military Review, Parameters, Army Times, and Defense.

National Council of Teachers of English (Lawson)

NCTE supports teachers and students in the classrooms, on college campuses, and in online learning environments. This resource provides access to: lesson plans, and the following journals: Teaching English In the Two year College, College English, English Leadership Quarterly, and others. To access this resource, see the instructions below.

Select My Account-> Log-in-> Resources-> Journals-> (located on the top-right of the page)
For Off-Campus use the username and password are below:

Username:  Lawsonstatelib
Password:  LSCC2021

Newspaper Source (AVL)

Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.

OER Commons (AVL)

Alabama OER Commons is a place for Alabama educators, students, and the general public to find and share free educational resources.

Opposing Viewpoints (AVL)

Opposing Viewpoints draws on the acclaimed social issues series published by Greenhaven Press, as well as core reference content from other Gale and Macmillan Reference USA sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Overdrive Ebook and Audiobook Collection (Lawson)

OverDrive is an ebook platform that offers access to leisure reading titles and popular non-fiction wherever you may be. OverDrive provides instant access to ebooks that can be downloaded to your PC, tablet, or smartphone. The librarian-curated collections include recent award-winning titles, socially relevant and controversial reads, and literature classics.

OVID (Lawson)

OVID provides current, full-text nursing ebooks, as well as bibliographic information.

Oxford Academic Press (AVL)

Oxford Academic is the home of academic research from Oxford University Press (OUP), the world's largest university press. We serve global communities of scholars, researchers, and teachers by publishing scholarship and research in subject areas across the arts & humanities, law, medicine & health, science & mathematics, and social sciences. You can discover and explore scholarly books and journals from OUP and a wide array of leading university presses and learned societies at Oxford Academic.  

Oxford English Dictionary (AVL)

The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) covers words from across the English-speaking world, from North America to South Africa, from Australia and New Zealand to the Caribbean. It also offers the best in etymological analysis and in listing of variant spellings, and it shows pronunciation using the International Phonetic Alphabet.

Oxford Reference (AVL)

Oxford Reference contains over 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Oxford Scholarship Online (AVL)

Oxford Reference Online offers full-text access to 89 academic monographs in Business & Management, Mathematics, Public Health & Epidemiology, and Social Work.

Points of View Reference Center (AVL)

Points of View is designed to users with access to full scope of controversial subjects. Users can use Points of View as a guide to debating, developing arguments, writing position papers, and developing critical thinking skills.

Professional Development Collection (AVL)

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. It also contains more than 200 educational reports.

Pronunciator (AVL)

Pronunciator provides access to over 100 languages, personalized courses, over 6,000 downloadable PDF phrasebooks and over 600,000+ hours of downloadable audio lessons to aid in learning a foreign language. Pronunciator also provides over 20,000 instructional videos on learning Sign Language.

• Access Instructions
• Pronunciator Help Desk

Psychology Collection (Lawson)

Psychology Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines that cover the study of emotions, personality, and the human mind. The database offers content of interest to both researchers and general users.

PubMed (Public)

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

R2 Digital Library (Lawson)

R2 Digital Library provides users with access to health science collections featuring a comprehensive collection of medical, nursing and allied health eBooks.

Radiologic Technology (Public)

Radiologic Technology is an official scholarly journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. Published continuously since 1929, it circulates to more than 145,000 readers worldwide. This award-winning bimonthly Journal covers all disciplines and specialties within medical imaging, including radiography, mammography, computed tomography, magnetic resonance imaging, nuclear medicine imaging, sonography, and cardiovascular-interventional radiography. In addition to peer-reviewed research articles, Radiologic Technology features continuing education articles and a variety of columns of interest to members of the profession.

Regional Business News (AVL)

Regional Business News provides comprehensive full-text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Sage Explorer Portal (AVL)

The SAGE Explorer provides access to the complete SAGE Social Science Library. This database resource includes SAGE Video, Research Methods, Digital Books, Business Cases, the American Government Press Library, CQ Researcher, Data Planet, and Campus.

Science (Lawson)

The Science Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines covering the latest scientific developments. Key subjects covered by the database include biological sciences, computing, engineering, and technology.

Scribner Writers Series (AVL)

Scribner Writers series provides students, teachers, and other researchers access to more than 2,000 original, comprehensive, scholar-signed essays on the lives and works of more than 1,400 important authors from around the world and from all time periods.

Twayne’s Authors Series (AVL)

Twayne’s Authors Series offers a series of literary criticism with in-depth introductions to the lives and works of writers, the history and influence of literary movements, and the development of literary genres. The database features nearly 900 eBooks from six print series.

U.S. History (Lawson)

U.S. History (Gale) provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to novice historians and advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in U.S. history and scholarly work being established in the field.

Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas (AVL)

Provides a transformative learning experience that enables users to visualize gross anatomy and microanatomy as they would in a lab room with cadavers or specimens. With the Visible Body app for iPhone ® and iPad ®, users can place a virtual human organ or complete the human body on any flat surface and use their devices as a viewing window to identify and virtually dissect anatomy.

NOTE: In order to access this AVL database automatically, you must be within the state of Alabama. Once you are on the AVL website (and have authenticated), you will need to click “All Resources” to access the AVL resources. From the resource page(s), you will need to locate the resource tile for Visible Body Human Anatomy Atlas 2020 and click on it. Once you click on the resource tile, you can navigate to the Visible Body Landing Page.

Vocational and Career Collection (AVL)

This EBSCO database supports vocational and technical courses of study with information from industry and trade-related journals, reviews, and newspapers. The database indexes over 510 titles with full text of articles from over 160 titles and nearly 5,000 Magill’s Book Reviews.

Vocations and Careers (AVL)

Gale's Vocation and Careers provides current and applicable periodical content to aid in career and vocational research -- from general career guides to highly specialized industry journals.

WorldCat (Public)

WorldCat allows users to search the collections of libraries locally, regionally and from around the world.

World Data Analyst (AVL)

World Data Analyst offers detailed statistical comparisons of countries around the world, using both the most recent statistics and historical figures. Plus users can create tables, charts, and even export the information to a spreadsheet for printing and data crunching.

World History (Lawson)

Gale OneFile: World History provides access to scholarly journals and magazines useful to novice historians and advanced academic researchers. The database offers balanced coverage of events in world history and scholarly work established in the field.